2016 Adjudicators

The ASTech Awards adjudication panels conducted rigorous appraisals of the award nominations, assessing them against award criteria to ensure only the best of the best who meet or exceed the criteria are chosen as Winners or Finalists.

Technical Panel 

  • Dr. David Bressler is a Professor in the Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Science at the University of Alberta.  David holds a Ph.D. in Microbiology and Cell Biotechnology from the University of Alberta. He is the 2011 Winner of the ASTech Award for Innovation in Agricultural Science.
  • Fabrizio Chiacchia is the President and CEO, Surface Medical Inc. Surface Medical was the 2014 Winner of the ASTech Start-Up Award and the 2015 Winner of the Manning Award for Innovation. Fab holds a BSc in Biological Sciences and a Masters in Biomedical Technology from the University of Calgary and an MBA in Finance from Queen's University.
  • Mary Fairhurst is the retired Research and Development Leader at Dow Chemical Canada. Mary holds a BSc Honours in Chemistry from Marianololis College. She completed her graduate work in analytic chemistry at the University of Alberta.

  • Jonathan Matthews is the Director, Tailings EPA at Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA). Jonathan holds a BSc in Geological Engineering and an M.Sc in Earth Sciences from the University of Waterloo.

  • Dr. Tim McAllister is the Principal Research Scientist in Ruminant Nutrition and Microbiology at the Lethbridge Research Centre of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. He was a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Team that was awarded the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. He is an adjunct professor at six university in Canada, one China and one in Ghana. 

Public Awareness Panel

  • Alma Abugov, Director of Development and Community Engagement, MindFuel

  • Cheryl Croucher, Producer of the Innovation Anthology, Porcupine Stone Productions

  • Janet French, Senior Reporter, Edmonton Journal